Blog Type, IPT Blog | December 2016

Industry and Parliament Trust 2016 Christmas Reception

On 8 December 2016, the Industry and Parliament Trust (IPT) hosted its annual Christmas reception welcoming over 120 guests. The reception allowed the IPT to bring together its supporters within business and parliamentarians, in a remarkable year in which the IPT recorded the highest number of Fellowships to date.

To top off the incredible setting on the Terrace Pavilion at the House of Commons, the IPT were joined by the worlds’ only parliamentary rock band, MP4, which comprises of Conservative MP Greg Knight, Labour MP Kevin Brennan, the SNP’s Pete Wishart and former Labour MP Ian Cawsey. The band provided crowd-pleasing entertainment throughout the night, which included playing their Christmas charity single dedicated to Jo Cox – ‘You can’t always get what you want’. As a thank you to the band, Baroness Prosser OBE Deputy Chairman of the IPT Board of Trustees presented each member with their own personalised band cartoon. 

Kevin Brennan MP with Sir David Amess MP

The reception presented the opportunity for Sir David Amess MP, Chair of the IPT Board of Trustees to reflect on this year’s achievements and present guitarist and lyricist Kevin Brennan, MP for Cardiff West and Deputy Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, with his cartoon for recently completing his Fellowship. Mr Brennan completed his Fellowship programme looking at the music industry, in particular exploring how the industry is evolving and utilising new technologies as well as gaining an insight into the challenges and opportunities within the music industry. Mr Brennan visited UK Music, Musicians’ Union, Yamaha, Spotify, BBC, Team Rock, Music Industries’ Association and British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors.

The Fellowship programme has been the flagship scheme of the IPT for forty years and provides educational, non-lobbying attachments for parliamentarians, providing a unique perspective of the challenges and issues facing UK industry.

Sir David Amess also announced that Baroness Prosser OBE will take over as the new Chairman in summer 2017.

Words by Radhika Madlani, Parliamentary Affairs Officer