Blog Type, IPT Blog | February 2017

IPT Celebrates 40 Years of Fellowship Success

In 2017, the Industry and Parliament Trust (IPT) proudly celebrates its 40th anniversary.  To commemorate this milestone the IPT is exhibiting a series of Fellowship caricatures in Portcullis House throughout the month of February. From Friday 3 February to Friday 3 March, the exhibition features 20 parliamentarians who have completed an IPT Fellowship; including Conservative MP Pauline Latham, Labour MP Adrian Bailey and Liberal Democrat Peer Baroness Scott of Needham Market.

Since its creation in 1977, the IPT has provided an independent and non-political platform of engagement between Parliament and UK businesses. The key aims of the IPT are to engage, educate and inform through creating lasting relationships and facilitating the exchange of ideas.

The IPT Fellowship programme provides parliamentarians (MPs, MEPs, Peers, and senior parliamentary officials) with a valuable opportunity to engage directly with businesses and experience the issues that they face first-hand. The IPT creates an environment that supports a trusted, open and two-way dialogue between Parliament and UK business. Currently, over 70 parliamentarians are taking part in the Fellowship programme and since the IPT was established, over 500 have benefited from undertaking a Fellowship.

Each 15 day Fellowship programme provides parliamentarians with bespoke learning and development opportunities in industry over a period of eighteen months to two years. Throughout the programme parliamentarians can be placed within businesses, NGOs, academic institutions and third sector organisations across a wide variety of sectors – from energy, manufacturing and aerospace to financial services, health and media. During the programme, parliamentarians explore issues that affect business across the UK, including topics such as skills, sustainable supply chains or corporate social responsibility.

Upon completion of the full fellowship programme, parliamentarians are awarded a cartoon commemorating their Fellowship and the organisations they spent time with.

Throughout this year, the IPT will be holding a number of events to celebrate its 40 years anniversary including numerous industry visits to supporting organisations as well as a 40th Summer Reception.


Additional cartoons include: Mr Speaker, Lord Speaker, Sir David Amess MP, Baroness Prosser, Rt Hon John Whittingdale MP, Angela Smith MP, John Howell OBE MP, Rt Hon Sadiq Khan, Ian Mearns MP, Baroness Bottomley, Baroness Harris, Kevin Brennan MP, Rt Hon Caroline Spelman MP, Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MP, Graham Evans MP, Rt Hon Fiona McTaggart MP and Iain Stewart MP. 

You can find out more about our Fellowship programme here, or if you are interested in hosting any of our parliamentarians as part of their Fellowship, please get in touch with Liz Dawson, Parliamentary Affairs Manager at or call 020 7839 9405.