Sustainable Energy Commission


The Industry and Parliament Trust's Energy Commission, working in association with ESCP Europe, published it's final report "Sustainable Futures" at an event in July 2013

The Energy Commission took evidence at a number of sessions, exploring different case studies ranging in theme from consumer behaviour to the challenges of securing production and supply. Over the course of six events, the Commission were able to develop their understanding of what challenges and issues the energy industry faces, both today and in the future.

The purpose of the Energy Commission was to examine the various approaches to achieving the low carbon targets of both 2020 and 2050 set by DECC. The Commission’s aim was to consider the different technological innovations and investment initiatives that might support industry and Government in realising this vision.

Follow the IPT

Energy Commission on Soundcloud

Energy Commission: Final Reflections

Energy Commission: Alternative Business Models and Alternative Technologies

Energy Commission: Thoughts from Lord Redesdale

Read the Report

Read the Energy Commission's report "Sustainable Futures," launched at a reception in July 2013.

Energy Commission Opening Dinner

Read Ian Hall's thoughts following the Commissions opening dinner, setting the themes and issues the Commission will consider in its upcoming sessions.

Energy Commission Opening Evidence Session

Read Ian Hall's thoughts following the Commission's first evidence session examining innovative technologies and investment opportunities, and how Government can support the low carbon agenda.

"Sustainable Futures" Launch

Commission rapporteur Ian Hall reflects on the reception launching the "Sustainable Futures" report, held in July 2013.

Energy Commission Briefing Session Three

Ian Hall writes following the Energy Commission's third briefing session, exploring biomass, electric vehicles and how best to fund innovative SMEs in the energy industry.

The Commission's Members

Chair of the Commission
  • Professor David Cope
  • Kostas Andriosopoulos
  • Gordon Birtwistle MP
  • Janine Freeman
  • Professor Patrick Gougeon
  • Grant Holland
  • Peter Kocen
  • Ian Liddle-Grainger MP
  • Denise Massey
  • Christine McGourty
  • Lord O'Neill
  • Lord Redesdale
  • Rt Hon Caroline Spelman MP
  • Robin Walker MP
  • Dr Melanie Wedgbury
Rapporteur for the Commission
  • Ian Hall