IPT > About Us > The Trustee Board
An error has occurred. Error: TwitteFeed is currently unavailable.

Board of Trustees

The IPT is a company limited by guarantee (No 1308583), with no share capital, under Section 30 of the Companies Act 2006.

The IPT is also a registered charity (No 287527). The direction and control of the IPT is determined by the Board of Trustees whose members are also directors of the company. The composition, election and retirement of Trustees are governed by the Articles of Association. The Trustees do not receive remuneration.

The maximum number of Trustees is 18, consisting of:

  • Up to 11 parliamentarians
  • Up to 7 non‑parliamentarians

Meet the IPT Trustees

The two presidents of the IPT are the Speaker of the House of Commons and The Lord Speaker of the House of Lords. Parliamentary and business representatives sit on the Board of Trustees. John Howell OBE MP is the current Chairman.

John Howell OBE MP


John has been the Conservative Member of Parliament for Henley since the June 2008 by-election. John was appointed as Chairman of the IPT Board of Trustees in September 2020. Click to read more.

The Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Vice Chairman

Ros Scott has been a Liberal Democrat peer since 2000, and came to the Lords from local Government in her home County of Suffolk. She has served as a front bench spokesman on transport and on local government and was the Party President from 2008 to 2011, Click to read more.

The Baroness Prosser OBE

Vice President

Baroness Prosser of Battersea was raised to the peerage in 2004. Previously Deputy Secretary General of the Transport & General Workers Union, Baroness Prosser acted as National Treasurer of the Labour Party from 1996-2001. Click to read more.

Tony Bellis

Tony has been Head of Public Sector Market Development and Public Affairs at 3M since February 2004. Click to read more.

Bobby Hain

Bobby Hain is Managing Director of Broadcast, at STV Group plc, responsible for TV operations to deliver the Channel 3 licence service that includes the network schedule shared with ITV and regional programmes, primarily news and current affairs. Bobby has four decades of media experience across radio, television and digital. Click to read more.

Kevin Hollinrake MP

Kevin joined the IPT trustee board in September 2017. He was previously PPS to David Lidington and Michael Gove as Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Click to read more.

The Lord Holmes of Richmond MBE

Chris is a former Paralympic swimmer who won nine gold, five silver and one bronze medal across four Games, including a record haul of six golds at Barcelona 1992, Click to read more.

Tracey Jessup

Tracey is UK Parliament Chief Digital and Information Officer. Previously she was Managing Director of the Parliamentary Digital Service Click to read more.

Pauline Latham OBE MP

Pauline Latham OBE MP has been Member of Parliament for Mid-Derbyshire since the formation of the constituency in 2010. She joined the IPT Trustee Board in February 2019. Click to read more.

Dr Adam Marshall CBE

Adam Marshall was appointed Director General of the British Chambers of Commerce in October 2016 until March 2021, he has remained at the BCC in as a Non-Executive Director in Business Advisor role Click to read more.

Chris Matheson MP

Christian Matheson is the Member of Parliament for the City of Chester. He was first elected in May 2015, winning the constituency for the Labour Party. Click to read more.

Catherine McKinnell MP

Catherine was first elected as the Labour MP for Newcastle upon Tyne North in May 2010. Prior to entering Parliament she worked as an employment solicitor. She has served in various Shadow Ministerial roles Click to read more.

Edward McMullan

Edward is Chairman of Dawnay Holdings PLC and the founder of the Chiltern group of companies. After Cambridge University and qualifying as a Chartered Accountant, Edward worked in the city in Corporate Finance, Click to read more.

Ian Mearns MP

Ian Mearns was elected as the MP for Gateshead in 2010. Before being elected to Parliament he was for 27 years a member of Gateshead Council where he was the council’s lead member for Children and Young People and for 8 years the Council’s Deputy Leader, Click to read more.

Carol Monaghan MP

Carol was first elected as the Scottish National Party MP for Glasgow North West in 2015, serving as an MP continuously since then. Prior to her parliamentary career Carol gained an undergraduate degree in Laser Physics and Optoelectronics, latterly entering the teaching profession. Click to read more.

Andrew Walker QC

Andrew is a practising barrister, and a Bencher of Lincoln's Inn. He was appointed as Queen's Counsel in 2011, and is a Bencher of Lincoln’s Inn, Click to read more.

The Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord Young was appointed as a Labour Peer to the House of Lords in June 2004. Prior to his peerage, he served as General Secretary of the National Communications Union (1989–95), then joint General Secretary (1995–98), then Senior Deputy General Secretary (1998–2002) of the Communication Workers Union. Click to read more.